Jira user sync
Atlas CRM allows you to manage companies and contacts inside Jira. But in some cases, you will already have customers in your Jira instance. If you use Jira Service Desk, you will most likely have customers that have access to the customer portal. And if your customers have direct access to your Jira instance, they will likely have their own Jira user account.
The user syncing feature, as the name suggests, synchronizes Jira users and Jira Service Desk customers with Atlas CRM contacts.
When you enable user syncing, Atlas CRM will create a contact for each Jira user and Jira Service Desk customers based on their email address. If a contact with the email address already exists, the existing contact will be linked to the user.
When a new user is created, by the Admin or through the customer portal for example, an Atlas CRM contact will automatically be created as well.
Changes to a Jira user or Jira Service Desk customer will also reflect back in the synced Atlas CRM contact in order to keep the data in Atlas CRM up to date.
Synced contacts are different from regular contacts and can be recognized by a 'Jira user' image next to their avatar.
Atlas CRM creates an extra section called Synced contact in the contacts template with details about the synced Jira user or Jira Service Desk customer. The following fields will be added to every contact which is synced with a Jira user or Jira Service Desk customer:
- Jira name
- Jira email
- Jira user (Which is a link to the Jira user or Jira Service Desk profile)
The data of this section is automatically populated and kept in sync by Atlas CRM for synced contacts and can be viewed in the contact detail screen. The contact name and email address will also be kept in sync with the name and email address from the Synced contact section.
You can edit a contact's name and email address, but Atlas CRM will no longer update the name and email address of a contact if they are not equal to the name and email address from the Synced contact section. The name and email address of the Synced contact section will always be in sync with the name and email address of a Jira user or Service Desk customer.
It is not possible to remove a synced contact. The only way to remove a synced contact is to delete the synced Jira user or Jira Service Desk customer, after which the synced contact will turn into a regular contact.
User syncing is disabled by default. To enable/disable user syncing:
- Log in as a Jira Administrator.
- Go to Manage apps.
- Navigate to the Settings in the Atlas CRM menu.
- Click on the tab Jira integration
- Set the Jira User Syncing toggle to on/off.
Depending on the amount of Jira users, Jira Service Desk customers it might take a little while for the feature to be enabled.
Disabling user syncing will turn all synced contacts into regular contacts. Disabling user syncing will not remove any contact from Atlas CRM. Atlas CRM will also remove the Synced contact section from the contacts template.